Executive Group


The Executive Group is made up of 11 members who have been elected from the LAG and a further 8 appointed members who mainly represent local public sector bodies. The Executive Group have all decision making responsibilities relating to the applications for funding received by the Programme, and they also have the responsibility of setting project criteria as well as monitoring and evaluating both individual projects and the Programme as a whole.

The Executive Group is tasked with ensuring there are:

  • Open and transparent procedures for nomination and representation of its membership;
  • Unambiguous and fair local nomination procedures;
  • Effective and regular communication opportunities to transmit information, decisions and future plans to and from the Executive Group; and
  • Clear mechanisms for capturing and reflecting local stakeholder views in planning and decision-making processes.

The all meeting notes and agendas for the Executive Group can be found here.

Elections were held in October / November 2014 so the Executive Group could be in place and ready to start the Programme early in 2015. Executive Group membership is currently as follows:

Sector / Organisation Public / Private / VoluntaryMembers
AgriculturePrivateWill Terry
Robin Asquith
ForestryPrivateNick Cooke
Micro / Small Business and Social EnterprisePrivateAbigail Stokell-Beckett
Jo Swift
Tourism and the Visitor EconomyPrivateAnna Lupton
Will Watts
Community, Voluntary and Rural ServicesVoluntaryTony Gatehouse
Steve Arnold
Helen Gundry
Malcolm Bowes
Hambleton District Council PublicHelen Kemp
North York Moors National Park PublicDavid Renwick
North Yorkshire County Council PublicLiz Barker
Redcar and Cleveland Borough CouncilPublicLydia Scarth
Ryedale District CouncilPublicHoward Wallis
Scarborough Borough CouncilPublicLiz Dowson
Rural Action Yorkshire VoluntaryChris James
Tees Valley Rural Community CouncilVoluntaryPeter Spencer
Ratio: 6 / 7 / 6Total: 19

If you wish to contact any Executive Group member please send your email to the general LEADER inbox – leader@northyorkmoors.org.uk.

Elections will be held again at the end of 2017 for all elected member positions, and elections for the Chair and Vice Chair of the Executive Group are held by the group on an annual basis.

How do I make an application
News and Events
Get Involved